Random thoughts began on Facebook ads


Well, most of the time it really pisses me off. Facebook is becoming crowded as ever. Hey, I’m not talking about any narcissistic posts or whatever. It’s not what I mean. I already past those and I have nothing against with vanity-glamour-whatever-selfies… anymore. It’s not about that. It’s just that I noticed nowadays, information is too available that some truths are being taken for granted and so many pretenders who pose themselves as if they figure the life out.. like-oh really!?

 

Do you see one of those? Of course you do. It’s full of crap, you know? For example: a girl posted a picture that she is reading a book and quoting something from 48 laws of power. There’s another girl quoting some serious life lesson shit.. with her boobs almost covering her face out. And some people would quote Rumi, Osho, Paulo Coelho or any poet/philosopher or a line of a song that seem to be has nothing to do with the picture they’re posting. It’s.. umm.. just bullshit, you know?

Few years back, I was with this girl walking along on Esplanade at night. We were strolling and checking on the sights of the Iloilo River. Somewhere in the middle, we were caught up by the ambience, so we paused for a bit and enjoy that scene. I was asked then, “What do you think, Von. With all these happenings going on this world, how will we, the likes of us, persevere?” Now, that question meant for a lot of things. Threats of war, massacres, famine, human trafficking and other bullshit you’ll see on the news. family and relationship issues, for those who’ve been cheated and lied unto. Those who’ve been manipulated and been toyed. Mind you, this conversation happened few years back, maybe around 2012 or 2013. So for the record, it has nothing to do with any of the recent issues.

I remember what Chuck Palanuhik said, “We’re the middle children of history, man. No purpose or place. We have no Great War. No Great Depression. Our great war is a spiritual war. Our great depression is our lives. We’ve all been raised on television to believe that one day we’d all be millionaires, and movie gods, and rock stars, but we won’t.”

Thing is, we are on a spiritual war, that’s true. Especially nowadays, people don’t know how it meant to chase dawn or the value of contentment. People tend to forget who they are and how they were used to be. And we devalue ourselves to momentarily cheer and fake joys. Happiness that we forced to believe ourselves to be true, though deep inside, we know that it’s facade, mediocrity-in-hiding. Clinging to that idea for pride, for fear and for false sense of comfort. It doesn’t matter if we admit it or deny whatever because in the end, it will be just us cowering, lying awake on our beds at night with tears welled up. Trapped in an ego trip and caught in a loop.

Going back to that girl’s question, I guess what she meant by “the likes of us”, she is referring to people who are true dreamers, the fools, the true rebels, the naïve. Those who still hold their humanity clenched on their fist, those who still believe in the old code and chivalry, who been damaged and lashed numerous times by the cynics and other bullshit yet still uphold their moral compass. The pure of heart.

Funny thing when I was a kid growing up, many things made me question the adult’s mentality: the absurdities, selfishness and unfairness. All that jazz. I told myself then I won’t be like that when I grow up. I’ll try as I can to uphold the right thing and always recognize the wrong, not to shut off anyone, to keep the humanity and defend the weak. I don’t know. It is pretty childish and corny, I know.

Things don’t work like what we hope to be sometimes. It has always been a dog eat dog world. According to Machiavelli, we’re all just be persecuted if we won’t learn how to play the game. The thing is, life’s too short to be bullshitter. To waste it on things that will make me regret, I don’t really want to live that kind of life. I don’t want to live my life knowing that I, one way or another, destroyed someone. World is already dominated in majority by these kinds of people. I’d rather stick to myself. To be honest, I’m no holier-than-thou, I have my own fair share of wrong stuff. I guess at least on minimal. To be a nice guy, we are the likes who are bound to be shattered and beaten up. Who would like that, right? But that’s how it usually is.

Wait. I think we’re getting ahead of ourselves here. Going back to that scene: I did give her an answer that night. Love Revolution. Love that should starts from within. Some truth to a song “Learning to love yourself, is the greatest love of all.” There are many things we should fight for. But to fight for yourself, that should be the top one. Lies and deceit are just being sprung in every corner. Monsters and demons can lure you in with their poisoned tongue. Being true to ourselves and stand for the people that we love what separates us from them. I despise people who don’t know how or who to look back to.

To know thyself is a very difficult task. That is true. No one can tell you what is the right thing to do. But we also don’t need anyone or anything to justify our action (unless of course when what you’re doing defeats the sense of humanity) I hate seeing people would cherry pick on some quotes or lines like as if that validates what they stand for, when they actually don’t. Especially, when it doesn’t reflect on any values that they stood for.

Oops.. I think I’m getting ahead of myself again. Let’s just end it as it is. Love! Love your parents, love your family, love your best friends and the most important of all. Love theyself

 

Leave a Reply

