Is there a cure for stupidity


I went to dailypost to be inspired to write about something or anything. I stumble upon this question. Is there a cure for stupidity? If you had a million dollars to reduce stupidity where you live, how would you spend it? 

What is stupidity?

According to wiki:

Stupidity is a lack of intelligence, understanding, reason, wit or sense. It may be innate, assumed, or reactive – ‘being “stupid with grief” as a defence against trauma, a state marked with ‘grief and despair…making even simple daily tasks a hardship’.

 

 

Personally, I don’t believe on the existence of stupidity or maybe I am I just don’t want to admit it. I’m not really sure but let me explain why I think so.

There are no stupid people. Only people who chose to shut off their understanding. I think the correct term for that is ignorance. Ignoring the facts, the clarity and choosing the side of a conformity because it’s comforting and they’re already used to it.

Let me admit though, I often used that term to describe people or things I see that doesn’t fit my preference. I know it’s a bit hypocritical on my part but for me calling people stupid is better than calling them ignorant, because it’s more catchy. Though, if stupidity and ignorance are needed to be completely different from each other, I think it’s far worse to be called ignorant.

I don’t know what the experts or the great minds of the past think of stupidity. I mean, I know they could make up a lot of theories and stuffs but I’m not really familiar at those.

Let’s go on to the next question: If I have a million dollars to reduce stupidity in my place, how will I spend it?

That’s a good question. I don’t know exactly how to reduce stupidity. I mean I could put up a school or something but it doesn’t reduce stupidity. I don’t believe much in academic excellence. It’s not stupidity actually that I’d like to reduce. It’s the rudeness or lack of respect. That’s something I want to be reduce.

I think if I would’ve given a million dollars. I would have probably spend it to my own pleasure rather put up another school. Though I know it’s a noble pursuit to build education centers but I think it would still be a waste of money. I believe education should start on the streets. That’s where knowledge will make its mark on child’s mind. Or maybe, I can put up a school that primary focus is not to give recognition to the over achievers but instead to the most improving individuals.

Well, don’t take it from me. I mean I’m just babbling around here, you see. Once when I was in high school, a friend of mine would tell me that he’s very stupid. I asked him “What makes you think that?”. He said because he flunked Math and some other subjects. I said to him “Yeah, you may flunk at those subjects but it doesn’t make you stupid.” He wonder what do I mean by what I said and realized what I meant then. Well, that guy turned out to be a good guitar player and now working with a stable career on a different field.

What I’m trying to say is that of course we have weak spots but we also have strong points. It doesn’t mean if you’re stupid on some stuff, you’ll be stupid all through out. After all, a lot of times, ignorance is a bliss.

2 thoughts on “Is there a cure for stupidity

  1. Thanks for the shout out.🙂 I think I understand what you are trying to say. I agree that ignorance can be a choice and also that being not so good in one area does not constitute stupidity overall. Maybe it is just something that shouldn’t be applied as a blanket statement but rather as a specific category.🙂 Peace

Leave a Reply

