“No Other Woman” (some quotes and review)


Hello!

Okay first of all.. My last post was supposed to be just on draft and I carelessly posted it. It’s so premature.😛 So when I tried to make some tweaks and stuffs, I decided to send it on trash, because I can no longer make any sense out of it. Maybe, I just wasn’t on the mood.. So probably I’ll make another one in the future in the same concept but not now.. Instead.

This is Anne😀

I just got back from the movie house. I don’t think Vem would believe what I just watched.. A local film called “No Other Woman”. I know, it’s very unlikely to see me watching this kind of movie but Anne Curtis was in there. So I thought I should give it a try. Besides, if Victor’s here in Iloilo, he would’ve watched it with me. Anyway, there’s no need to be defensive about it. Let’s continue on with the movie.

I know that it’s supposed to be drama and infidelity and stuff but the lines just too funny, even the scenes. In my mind I was like, “Woah! If that happened to me and Vem’s kind of like that. I would’ve laughed my ass off instead getting mad at her.” I was really expecting a cat fight in their first meet but they didn’t instead they exchange some very funny innuendos. Here, let me share it one with you: (Wife played by Christine Reynes and the mistress played by Anne. I hope I got the translation right.)

Wife: “Why don’t you have dinner with us tonight, pa thank you ko na rin dahil kinuha mo ang asawa ko.”

(Why don’t you have dinner with us tonight, I’d like to say thank you for taking my husband)

Mistress: “I’m sorry?” (Well, she’s sorry :P)

Wife: “Bilang supplier ng furniture para sa resort niyo.” (As the supplier for the furniture to your resort)

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

The scene was they’re having some dinner, three of them. The guy, wife and the mistress. But the wife’s still not sure if there really is an affair going on between her husband and the rich heiress. They were talking about how lucky the wife is for having her husband and something, I forgot the details. But here’s what the wife said.

Wife, Charmaine Escaler: “Mababaliw siguro ako kung malaman kong may babae siya.  Baka mapatay ko yung kabit, silang dalawa actually.
Translation: I’m gonna be mad if I discovered that my husband has another woman. I would probably kill that woman, or maybe both of them actually.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Here’s another one in the dinner scene:

Wife: “Sabi nila, a way to a man’s heart is through his stomach. Sa ganda mong yan, siguro madami kang alam na shortcuts.”

Translation: They said that  a way to a man’s heart is through his stomach. With that beauty of yours, you probably know a lot of shortcuts.

.. And they were still trying to be civil in this situation😄

~~~~~~~~~~~~~

They were in a pool in Anne’s resort scene. She was explaining to Anne why she was there when the guy’s supposed to be there for business transaction.

Wife: “Alam mo kasi ang marriage parang exclusive village. Kailangan mong bantayan para hindi makapasok ang mga squatters.”

Translation: “You know what? Marriage is like an exclusive village. You need to keep watch or some squatters would get in.”

And she’s telling this to the rich heiress..😀

~~~~~~~~~~~~

Here are some more quotes from the wife’s mother when she confided that she got a feeling that her husband’s having an affair with that rich heiress. Some lines, I believed, are much funnier if I just leave it untranslated. But anyway, here goes:

Wife’s mom: “Ang mundo ay isang malaking Quiapo, maraming snatcher, maagawan ka, lumaban ka!”

Translation: “The World is like a big Quiapo. There are lots of snatchers, You should fight!”

~~~~~~~~~~~

Another mom’s quote.. They were on the market with the wife and her mom when the guy arrived and they noticed some red spots on his neck. I think Dikya is a jellyfish. I’m not really sure. But I guess they we’re subliminally referring to kiss mark.

Wife’s mom: “Ganyan talaga ang makating Dikya, Nagmamarka!”

Translation: “That’s what the itchy jellyfish really is. They would leave a mark!”

~~~~~~~~~~~

They were talking about the affair suspicion and knowing the enemy and it was just that the enemy is a rich heiress.

Wife: Ano bang mas madaling kalaban? Ang putang mahirap o ang putang mayaman?

(Translation: What’s the easier foe? A rich bitch or a poor bitch?)

Wife’s mom: “Pareparehong puta lang yun! Ang mayaman bumibili ng hermes sa mall, ang mahirap bumibili ng hermes sa greenhills.

(Translation: Whore are all just the same. A rich whore would buy a hermes in a mall, the poor whore would buy hermes in greenhills.)

~~~~~~~~~~~

Oh before I forget. Here’s another line, though it refers to local celebrity that some of you guys might not heard of. Anyway, here goes:

Mom: Panahon na para i-pack-up ‘yang si Lucy Torres mo. Ilabas mo na diyan si Gretchen Barretto. Sabi nga niya sa Magkaribal, ‘You want war? I’ll give you war.’ Anak, ako na ang bahala sa red stilettos mo!

(Translation) Mom: It’s the time for you to “pack up” that “Lucy Torres” thing and let out “Gretchen Barreto” in you. As she said in “Magkaribal”, “You want war? I’ll give you war”. Daughter, let me handle your red stilettos!

I don’t really get it at first because I haven’t watched Magkaribal but yeah, they’re referring to that movie and I guess the line “You want war..” thing and the red stilettos is some sort of a parody.

~~~~~~~~~~~

Ohh and there was this scene when the wife and the mistress are both holding a bag at the same time. I was really expecting there’s gonna be a tug of war for a piece of bag. I forgot some line there but it was really a funny scene.

Okay, so enough with that. All in all, it was a great movie. Though the 3/4 of it, have me laugh at my seat and I wasn’t the only one. Some guys laugh at some scenes too. By the way, great job to Carmin Martin. She delivered some lines in great comic timing. I would love it if Vem would watch it. Though, I got a feeling that she might get emotional instead.

6 thoughts on ““No Other Woman” (some quotes and review)

  1. hello smokebear!

    I do not know how did you find my post on my site and I do not know re-blogging as well… do you have any tips for me? anyway nice ear and eye… ;p

    • Hello!

      I don’t really get what you mean about reblogging tips? I think there’s an option somewhere for that. By the way, I also don’t get what you mean by “nice ear and eye”😛 hehehe.. Oh and, I saw your link on the related links suggestion when I was about to post this.

      • hehehehe.. actually what I meant when i said “nice eye and ear” was that you really must have it to notice the scene and the dialogue that went about… about the reblogging tips, what I meant was how did you do that?… I am about 4 months since I started blogging and sometimes, I cannot understand a lot of things in this, like how to see related links when posting… hehehe… but still getting used to all of this though.. thanks for your time commenting… (“,) nice theme, melancholic for me… which is what I king of get sucked into…

      • I see! Hehehe.. Thanks man! I was more interested with their dialogues and kind of anticipating a cat fight😛

        The first backdrop I used is a candle but it somewhat makes reading a little difficult, so I tried this one. The reason I choose this one, I was a bit inspired of the line I head from the movie “Dead Poet Society”.

        “I went to the woods because I wanted to live deliberately,
        I wanted to live deep and suck out all the marrow of life,
        To put to rout all that was not life and not when I had come to die,
        Discover that I had not lived.”
        – Henry David Thoreau

        About the reblogging thing, here: http://en.blog.wordpress.com/2010/06/01/we-all-like-to-reblog/ … You have to like first the post that you want to reblog. The options are on the above tab. ^_^

        I hope I helped you out!🙂

Leave a Reply

