5 more hits: Just some passing thoughts about our history


Five more hits and this day is my most viewed day since I started. I find it a bit weird, is it because of the laundry post? Hehehe.. This so funny. Anyway, just to get that hits and consider this the most viewed day, I decided to post something, for my own amusement. I hope you guys don’t mind, I mean, I only want to break my record.

Earlier a friend of mine posted a quote in facebook that I find interesting.

“There are many things we do not want about the world. Let us not just mourn them. Let us change them.”
Ferdinand E. Marcos

I believed he’s one of the most misunderstood people in the world. Especially now that the elitist he tried to jailed in martial are the Big Man of Medias. I once asked my grandma about him. She seems like him and as I read some other blogs, that’s what their old folks said to them too. They seem adore him. I wonder why, since most textbooks in schools told us that he’s some sort of a baddest guy ever existed in the Philippines.

Edsa Revolution: Estimated one to three million people filled EDSA from Ortigas Avenue all the way to Cubao.

Now I wonder, why do they call it People Power? Since there’s only 3 million people who joined it and we have estimated of 56,000 population in that year. That’s about 5% of the entire population. Is it true to what they’re saying about Imperial Manila?

People power movements have been an Imperial Manila phenomenon. Their playing field is Edsa. They have excluded the provincianos from their movement with their insufferable arrogance and snobbery…ignoring the existence of the toiling masses and peasants in agrarian Philippines.

–  Amando Doronila,  Philippine Daily Inquirer

Here’s another funny thought, the role played by Cardinal Jaime Sin in, not just one but, two so-called Edsa Revolution. The first one was with Marcos regime and the second one is with the Estrada.

In February 1986, Marcos ordered his generals to deploy against the marchers. However, at a key moment, Sin called on his flock to surround the police and military headquarters in Manila. More than 1 million people took to the streets praying the rosary and singing hymns. Why would he called his flock to surround the police and military quarters? I mean, in a thought that President Marcos was the baddest guy ever, there’s a big chance they would all be killed. So he’s willing to bet the lives of his “flock” that the military would not wiped them out? Is that the divine hunch? And yet, it turned out to be peaceful and most of them thanked Cardinal Sin for it, they seem forgotten that it was him who puts them on the line of fire and if it’s not because of Marcos’ order not to fire, they would all have been killed.

Admittingly, I don’t really know everything about it. I mean, I could be wrong with all the ramblings I’ve said. Who knew? But I’m pretty sure though that the modern medias is not being fair in history, especially about President Ferdinand Marcos. I believe history favors the survivor, they can bend it to submit for their own liking and grandeur. Until now, it’s still a debate if his remains should be placed in the “Libingan ng mga Bayani”. Why not? All president’s remain are supposed to be there, so why exclude him?

The very ink with which history is written is merely fluid prejudice.

-Mark Twan

Leave a Reply

