Post-A-Day and NaNoWriMo


I’ve decided I want to blog more. Rather than just thinking about doing it, I’m starting right now.  I will be posting on this blog once a day for all the rest of 2011.

I was intrigued by this “National Novel Writing Month” or NaNoWriMo, that is marked on November. It was said that the thousand of writers would be joining up towards completing a 50,000 word-novel by November 30th. Yeah. 50, 000 words, That would be 1,667 words a day. I think I can cope up with that, posting 1,667 words every other day is not really a big deal, but the real problem is writing with that amount everyday for the whole month consistently everyday. Another problem would be it’s supposed to be a novel, with dialogues, plot and all the jazz. I mean, if I could just rant about anything then it would greatly lighten the load. But man!? We’ll see, I actually want to know my limits that’s why I’m joining this. Maybe I can learn from this ordeal, since I’m not really a writer anyway.

“It’s all about quantity, not quality. This approach forces you to lower your expectations, take risks, and write on the fly. Make no mistake: You will be writing a lot of crap. And that’s a good thing. By forcing yourself to write so intensely, you are giving yourself permission to make mistakes. To forgo the endless tweaking and editing and just create. To build without tearing down.” – NaNoWriMo

In preparation, I’ll make use of this post-a-day challenge for practice. Well, at least, here I can just rant about anything. I’m gonna need to do some mental stretching and warm up my mind muscles. Hmmm.. I better prepare myself a story and create some outlines..

I know it won’t be easy, but it might be fun, inspiring, awesome and wonderful. Therefore I’m promising to make use of The DailyPost, and the community of other bloggers with similiar goals, to help me along the way, including asking for help when I need it and encouraging others when I can.

If you already read my blog, I hope you’ll encourage me with comments and likes, and good will along the way.

Signed,

Smokebear

20 thoughts on “Post-A-Day and NaNoWriMo

  1. Hmmm! I can relate to this, since I wanted to blog more I created a new blog site, by the way, please add this to your blogroll also http://silentpal.wordpress.com that would be my second blog I may be blogging on Tagalog using that site but let me know if you are not understanding. NaNoWriMo yeah we’ll get there let’s keep writing and every word counts.

    • I love Tagalog blogs, kaya lang minsan ko nacocome across.. I’ll check your blog first mamaya tol then I’ll put it in the blogroll🙂 I’m trying to create my outlines for NaNoWriMo.. hehehe

  2. Pingback: National Novel Writing Month – Common Problems And How I Faced Them « My Two Cents

  3. Pingback: The Road to Writing – History « Cheddar Nightmares

  4. I’ve taken on NaNoWriMo and postaday2011 at the same too. Hopefully I haven’t taken on too much.

    I have spent the last two or so weeks trying to plan my novel. I know a certain amount needs to just flow free and all that, but I need to plan at least a basic plot-line and the main characters.

    I figure, that way the number of creative blocks I have to get past are at least reduced. (They can never be stopped entirely of course)

  5. Pingback: Writing Tips Wednesday – NaNoWriMo Inspiration! « Dave Farmer

  6. Hey man, I followed your trackback from my blog.

    Just read your article as well as a few others and I find it remarkable just how many different kinds of people are motivated to take on these challenges.

    I plan on reading a few more of your posts and it seems as though I will be subscriber 14.

    I look forward to checking my inbox daily.

    • Thanks dude, I also read some of your posts. I liked it, I’ll also be a constant follower from now on. I can’t subscribe through my email since it’s already messed up with facebook notifications and stuff. Anyway, I appreciate your visit and good luck to us, hope we’ll all survive this Nano challenge.

  7. Pingback: The Modern Homemakers @ NaNoWriMo 2011 « The Modern Homemakers @ Nanowrimo 2011

  8. Pingback: Prepare for National Novel Writing Month with the Post a Day Challenge « Pro Novelist

  9. Pingback: NaNoWriMo approachs. I might be a little terrified. « Lemon City III

  10. Pingback: Just signed up for NaNoWriMo « Write on the World

  11. Pingback: NaNoWriMo Questions & Answers « Three Sixty

  12. Pingback: A look back at a year of blogging – Mostly inspirational chit-chat

  13. Pingback: Writing Tips Wednesday – The spirit of NaNoTeamIndy! « Dave Farmer

  14. Pingback: The Road to Writing – History |

  15. Pingback: Post NaNo Blogging « My Two Cents

  16. Pingback: The Road to Writing – History | Keyboard Pizza

Leave a Reply

