Fascination with the Time Period


I am not a history buff. I just love how arts developed and the philosophical revolutions of the great minds in the past centuries. Hey, these are only based in my opinion as a modern and a simple passerby. So, don’t expect any fancy history lecture here.. Hehehe..

Mona Lisa

“The Renaissance”

The fist thing came to my mind would be Renaissance because of the intellectual and social upheaval happened in this era and most importantly, the arts that greatly treasured today. For example: (The Great Ninja Turtles :P) Leonardo da Vinci, Michaelangelo, Donatello, Raphael..

You ever wonder why most of these artists are Italians. It was said though that the origin of this cultural movement is in Florence, Italy, because of Medici, patronizing adoration to the arts. Lorenzo de’ Medic is said to be the catalyst for an enormous amount of arts patronage, and he encourage his countrymen to commission arts from the Florence’s leading artists including Leonardo da Vinci, Sandro Botticelli, and Michelangelo Buonarroti. I never learned that from school though. I read it in one of Anne Rice‘s novels (and confirmed it in Wikipedia :p)

Pretty, right?

Speaking of Anne Rice’s Novels. In the book, Vittorio the vampire, where the story took place in Italy. That’s where I started my fascination, I guess, with the Renaissance era. She mentioned the story of Fra Lippo Lippi, a 15th century real-life painter, who faces the conflict of a religious life committed to the Church or a life of leisure. She mentioned lots more controversial Fra Lippo Lippi’s stories there, like the affair he had with a nun but I’m not sure about that. Would love to learn it someday though (when I’m not so much preoccupied).

Oh and another thing I love about this era.. Is the general usage of corsets ^_^I love seeing chicks in corsets though I only seen it on television but I find it really… nice though🙂
“The Enlightenment Age” (Age of Reason)

It happened around in the 18th Century where philosophy and science become prominence. It’s a cultural movement that sought to use the power of reason to reform the society.

Here are the things I love about this era:

The increased of production and consumption of reading materials. Encouragement of the spreading of books, pamphlets, newspapers and journals. It’s one hell of a “Reading Revolution”. Some would collect different materials and read it on the public. Then, people began to read extensively, collecting as many books they can find and read it alone. What’s sad about this though is, the literary market, at the end, couldn’t support the myriad of writers.

The Coffee Houses that developed into a “penny universities”. Once inside, the patron had access to coffee, the company of other learned people, various discussions, pamphlets, bulletins, newspapers, and the latest news and gossip. It’s sharing of learning in less formal way than the structured institutions.

Then, the Debating Societies began, a change which helped set up a new standard of sociability: “order, decency, and liberality”. These societies discussed an extremely wide range of topics. One broad topic was societies debated over “male and female qualities”, courtship, marriage, and the role of women in the public sphere. They also discussed political issues, varying from recent events to the nature and limits of political authority, and the nature of suffrage. Debates on religion rounded out the subject. It is important to note, however, that the critical subject’s results of the debate quite often upheld the status quo.

Paris Cafe Discussion

“The Hippies Era”

I’d love this age though I was not even born at the post hippie movement. It began, I guess, around 1960’s. According to some the word “hip” denotes awareness. When I say “I’m hip to the situation” means “I’m aware of the situation”. So the word hippie means “one who is aware” and expanding awareness is the goal of this movement.

It was said that the first sign of this culture happened in Europe, between 1898 and 1906, a German youth movement arose. Inspired by the works of Friedrich Nietzsche, Goethe, Hermann Hesse, and Eduard Baltzer, they attracted thousands of young Germans who rejected the rapid trend toward urbanization and yearned for the pagan, back-to-nature spiritual life of their ancestors.

What I love about this culture is the Ideology and the Philosophy. Hippie philosophy also credits the religious and spiritual teachings of the great teachers, like: Gandhi, Buddha, St. Francis of Assisi and Jesus Christ etc. They were often pacifists and participated in non-violent political demonstrations, such as civil rights marches.

While, the Yippie, a radically youth-oriented and countercultural offshoot of the free speech and anti-war movements of the 1960s. They employed theatrical gestures, such as advancing a pig (Pigasus the Immortal) as a candidate for President in 1968, to mock the social status quo. They have been described as a highly theatrical, anti-authoritarian and anarchist youth movement of “symbolic politics”.

Abbie Hoffman

Oh and the other thing I take fancy of is the van.. The VW Bus became known as a counterculture and hippie symbol, and many buses were repainted with graphics and/or custom paint jobs. A peace symbol often replaced the Volkswagen logo.

Now, Let me tell you that I love these time periods. If I have a time machine, I would love to visit these ages and cultures and maybe consider living for a week or a months. But the thought of spending my whole lifetime to any of those is a little uncomfortable and sad to think. I won’t trade living here to any of those eras.  Modern age is abundant of information because of the Internet and has much more reasonable.. lifestyle, right?

Powered by Plinky

One thought on “Fascination with the Time Period

  1. Art and I do not go together. There are some paintings that I like but I would not know who painted them.

    Art has evolved like everything else and people’s idea of what art is has changed to, So we just have to learn to recognise good from bad…but which is which?

Leave a Reply

