Now Listening to: Summer Breeze by Seals and Crofts


Summer breeze
makes me feel fine
blowing through the jasmine in my mind

You guys remember them?

I was watching “How I Met Your Mother” Season 1, the episode where Ted went to Love Solution Company. Using algorithms and some calculation, they promised to track down his soul mate. There’s a scene where he meet the 9.6 (rated by the love solution computer) doctor and just blurt out this song and they both sing along. The song just suddenly stuck in my head, an LSS phenomenon. (I think I also heard this song from the movie “Land of the Lost” ).

Sometimes I hate it, every time I hear a good song and have no idea where the hell did it came from. I feel a little guilty, feels like someone’s dying because of my ignorance. (Yep, I’m weird) That’s why I promise to myself to give these songs credit by, at least, learning the artists responsible for it. I’m not just talking about this particular song. Any of them, especially the classics, that would just captures your heart in whatever mood you are in.

So anyway, I try researching about these guys. Jimmy Seals and Dash Crofts are two musicians from Texas who were immensely popular in the 1970’s, and still honored today for their hits Summer Breeze, Hummingbird, Diamond Girl, We May Never Pass This Way Again and Get Closer. Their unique pop/rock sound was made famous by their incredible vocal harmony, songwriting and musicianship. Their music was also distinctive for their spiritual lyrics and themes, inspired by the teachings of the Bahá’í faith.

(Well, I’m not going to dig deeper than that. I just want to know their names anyway.. Hehehe..  Hmmm.. Got a strange feeling that I just saved someone’s life.. And it’s not even summer… Weird :P)

Copyright © 2011. Smokebear’s Paw. All rights reserved.

Leave a Reply

