Debate, Religion and Some Stuffs


The trial of Giordano Bruno by the Roman Inqui...

The trial of Giordano Bruno

Debate or debating is a formal method of interactive and representational argument. Debate is a broader form of argument than logical argument, which only examines consistency from axiom, and factual argument, which only examines what is or isn’t the case or rhetoric which is a technique of persuasion. Though logical consistency, factual accuracy and some degree of emotional appeal to the audience are important elements of the art of persuasion, in debating, one side often prevails over the other side by presenting a superior “context” and/or framework of the issue, which is far more subtle and strategic.

I love debates. I find it amusing to listen to different views of each sides whatever topic it is. It’s important though to always keep your composure, never take anything personal and always be open-minded. That’s the number 1 rule.. Be open-minded.. If you think you can’t handle the pressure better stay away.

Topics.. hmmm.. I love lots of topics: Politics (of course), Morality/Ethics, Current Events, Scientific research, Statistics/Poll, Advocacy, History etc and of course my all time favorite, Religion🙂 That’s an all time favorite. Let me share my views about Religion. This is my honest opinion about it. So I hope no will be offended by it. (It’s just an opinion anyway, feel free to shrug it off :P)

Since I mentioned Religion, let me share how I see it.

*Fill Ins:

( There are times, I got an argument with a Born Again Pastor and also with a Iglesia ni Cristo devotees. There are times when I just trying to restrain myself so they can shut up and move along, but they seldom do. Sometimes it’s just hard to especially when they’re so imposing and seem condescending. How would you react when someone tell you, “You’ll burn in hell for all eternity unless you repent and accept the blood of Jesus and you’ll be born again in the Kingdom of heaven.” First of all, who are you to tell me I’ll be burn in hell? Are you God? Do you even know how to get saved? I’m not a Bible fanatic reader, but I once read the whole of it. I’m sure there was a passage that saying that:

Ephesians 2:8-9

” For it is by grace you have been saved, through faith—and this is not from yourselves, it is the gift of God—  not by works, so that no one can boast.”

I have so much more to share about this on but I probably let it pass and save it for the next time.. Hehehe)

*Fill in Ends

Religion is a marketing business. ( I just remember there was story that Jesus hated and destroyed a market somewhere in New Testament :P) Just business. And just like business, there are lots of competition. They’re creating ways to outdo each other and screw us (the innocent bystanders) along the way. Just look back in the history in the year of Roman Empire, Constantine, all the Crusades (esp. Children Crusade), the Holy Wars, the witch hunt era, the Woman-Pope, Joan, the political conflicts of the 3 popes, the unfair punishment and martyrdom of scientists such as Giordano Bruno, Galileo Galilei etc., the execution of Knights Templar, the so-called “indulgence” and much more and counting. (I’m sorry if it seem focused on Catholicism.. I was born in a Catholic family. That’s why I questioned it more than any other religion.)

Crusades

Throughout the history, religion has always been a tool in controlling the masses and bending the truths. It’s still so until now. Politics, almost ever public officials use the word God in their speeches. Holy Wars, each religion been teaching beliefs that “they may die like warriors of God”, Fueling their fanaticism. It’s a freaking mind control.

By the way, I’m not an atheist, for when you might wonder. I believe in an ectoplasm  –  source of all things, an entity who’s not bias and doesn’t demand anything in return of your service. (He’s God, he doesn’t need your adoration.) But I’m not Catholic or Christian or Muslim or whatever. I am a cosmo citizen. We are all under heaven. I believe that relationship with God should be personal. You can listen to different spiritual ideas but don’t follow what they dictates right away. Weigh them up and keep it personal as what Giordano Bruno said in De triplici minimo (1591):

“He who desires to philosophize must first of all doubt all things. He must not assume a position in a debate before he has listened to the various opinions, and considered and compared the reasons for and against.

“He must never judge or take up a position on the evidence of what he has heard, on the opinion of the majority, the age, merits, or prestige of the speaker concerned, but he must proceed according to the persuasion of an organic doctrine which adheres to real things, and to a truth that can be understood by the light of reason.”

No one can teach you what it is after life. Who knows? No one can say exactly who is God, or say who’s not God. What’s with these wars between religions. I was wondering myself before. If God is so powerful, can’t those be the same so we can get along? He can be a Holy cow of the Hindus or a Goddess of Wiccans. He can be whatever he wants, right? I mean, He’s God isn’t he?

Folks, I believe we have the right to doubt “Him/Her/It”. If we don’t then he should have created us with more than 1 brain to comprehend him more clearly. We have to accept we’re confused and it’s not bad to doubt the existence of God, ghost or aliens.. whatever.. because no one can bring us to the end of the truth. Some people just don’t want to admit that no matter what because of.. the profits, economic/political advantages and the fear of death.

Anyway, let’s end this with that. I hope this won’t come out offensive to you guys. Oh and I don’t want to spark any debate here.. Hahaha.. This is just my honest opinion.  This is how I see the world. But I believe in God but Religion is made by man. And Debate suppose to be for the open minded people🙂

Powered by Plinky

Related videos:
Jesus Camp divides America:

4 thoughts on “Debate, Religion and Some Stuffs

  1. Faith: Without it a ship will sink, with It you may survive the event. Have faith. Thanks for the reference.I also believe that humility is what distinguishes the believer from the non-believer. I witnessed a society turned into idolatry, because when one believes oneself to be the supertop of the food chain, one becomes the idol, by standing on the pedestal of one’s own creation.
    I will visit again. All comes in good time, all becomes clearer with the passsage of time and…Faith!

    George.

    • Thanks for the effort of posting a related website. The system thought it’s a spam. You should have said an introduction or some sort instead of just putting URL.

      Now.. about that.. Is that your blog? I respect your belief and your utopia.. but just want to say that at least be fair to other religion.. Religion is not Jesus per se. I mean, if that’s what you think then good for you. I won’t take that against you. But to be fair to others, why can’t we just strive to better ourselves and get along with everyone else and respect other people’s beliefs.

      Describing God is like describing an abstract picture. Everyone has their own interpretation. You can’t say others got it all wrong and you’re the only has the truth of it. The picture can give out unique impact to different eyes in different angles. We may have a different interpretation but doesn’t mean that we all got it wrong. You may like it or hate or dreaded it, It doesn’t change the fact of what it truly is. That it’s still an abstract picture, ergo it’s still God🙂

      Hahaha.. I hope you get what I mean..🙂 More Clarity for all of us.. Keep visiting🙂

Leave a Reply

